Saturday, November 20, 2010

Consistory for the Creation of New Cardinals 2010

As announced a month ago, this morning the Holiness of our Lord Pope Benedict XVI is holding an ordinary public Consistory for the creation of new cardinals. As mentioned then, among those raised to the sacred purple are two great friends of both the usus antiquior and a reform of the reform, Their Excellencies Archbishops Raymond Burke and Malcolm Ranjith, as well as Domenico Bartolucci, the former maestro of the Sistine Chapel (see a full list here).

Here are some impressions of this morning's celebration.

The ceremony is begun with a fanfare from the inner loggia of St. Peter's Basilica:

The Holy Father pronounces the formula of creation:

Itaque auctoritate omnipotentis Dei, sanctorum Apostolorum Petri et Pauli ac Nostra hos venerabiles Fratres creamus et sollemniter enuntiamus Sanctæ
Romanæ Ecclesiæ Cardinales.

Cardinal Amato delivering the address of homage on behalf of the newly created cardinals:

The Gospel is sung:

The new cardinals swear their oath of fealty towrds the Supreme Pontiff and his successors:

Now the Holy Father imposes the red birettas and assigns the titular churches, using the formula:

Ad honorem Dei omnipotentis et sanctorum Apostolorum Petri et Pauli, tibi committimus Titulum (vel Diaconiam) N. In nomine Patris, et Filii, et Spiritus Sancti. R. Amen.

You can find a list of the titular churches assigned here.

Cardinal Ranjith:

Cardinal Burke, who was assigned S. Agata de’ Goti, the former titular church of the great Papal Master of Ceremonies Enrico Dante and, I might add, of the great bishop of my own diocese, Konrad Count of Preysing, as well as of Giuseppe Pecci, the brother of pope Leo XIII, and of Ercole Consalvi, the famous Secretary of State of Pius VII:

Cardinal Marx, the Pope's successor as Archbishop of Munich and Freising:

Cardinal Bartolucci:

The new cardinals exchange the sign of peace with the other cardinals:

More recent articles:

For more articles, see the NLM archives: