Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Pope Benedict Announces Creation of New Cardinals

This morning, Our Most Holy Father Pope Benedict XVI announced, that on Saturday, 20 November 2010, he will hold an ordinary public Consistory for the creation new cardinals. Among those elevated to the sacred purple are two great friends of both the usus antiquior and a reform of the reform: Their Excellencies Archbishops Raymond Burke and Malcolm Ranjith. Also noteworthy is the elevation of Domenico Bartolucci, the former maestro of the Sistine Chapel. This, then, is an occasion of joy. Here is a complete list:

Roman Curia

  1. Archbishop Angelo Amato SDB, 72, prefect of the Congregation for the Causes of Saints

  2. Archbishop Mauro Piacenza, 66, prefect of the Congregation for the Clergy

  3. Archbishop Gianfranco Ravasi, 68, president of the Pontifical Council for Culture

  4. Archbishop Fortunato Baldelli, 75, major penitentiary of the Roman church

  5. Archbishop Velasio De Paolis CS, 75, prefect for the Economic Affairs of the Holy See

  6. Archbishop Raymond Burke, 62, prefect of the Supreme Tribunal of the Apostolic Signatura

  7. Archbishop Kurt Koch, 60, president of the Pontifical Council for Promoting Christian Unity

  8. Archbishop Robert Sarah, 65, president of the Pontifical Council Cor Unum

  9. Archbishop Paolo Sardi, 76, pro-Patron of the Order of Malta

  10. Archbishop Francesco Monterisi, 76, archpriest of the Basilica of St Paul's Outside the Walls

Residential Cardinals:

  1. Antonio Naguib, 75, Patriarch of Alexandria of the Copts

  2. Archbishop Paolo Romeo of Palermo, 72

  3. Archbishop Reinhard Marx of Munich and Freising, 57

  4. Archbishop Kazimierz Nycz of Warsaw, 60

  5. Archbishop Donald W. Wuerl of Washington, 69

  6. Archbishop Laurent Monsengwo Pasinya of Kinshasa, 71

  7. Archbishop-emeritus Medardo Joseph Mazombwe of Lusaka, 79

  8. Archbishop Malcolm Ranjith of Colombo, 62

  9. Archbishop Raymundo Damasceno Assis of Aparecida, 73

  10. Archbishop-emeritus Raul Eduardo Vela Chiriboga of Quito, 76

Non-elector Cardinals over 80 years of age:

  1. Archbishop José Manuel Estepa Llaurens, 84, Archbishop-emeritus of the Spanish Armed Forces

  2. Monsignor Elio Sgreccia, 82, president-emeritus of the Pontifical Academy for Life

  3. Monsignor Domenico Bartolucci, 93, the director-emeritus of the Sistine Chapel

  4. Monsignor Walter Brandmüller, 81, president-emeritus of the Pontifical Commission for Historical Sciences

More recent articles:

For more articles, see the NLM archives: